Close
Reviews

“Rabbit hole”

It is beautifully realized by director Maria Riboli’s sensitive, accomplished, and subtle staging. That the racially diverse cast appears to be an actual family is a testament to her talents.
— TheaterScene.net

Multiracial or “colorblind” casting has been a controversial issue in the theater. The relative universality of Rabbit Hole lends itself to such an approach and is an ideal selection. Nothing comes across as a gimmick or strains credibility. The expert ensemble and skilled direction of this production successfully prove the worthiness of exploring this belief.
— TheaterScene.net

The blocking, the direction and staging where perfect. Director Maria Riboli did not miss a beat in capturing the pacing and depth of this material.
— LocalTheatreNY.com

It is great theatre when presented with confidence and strength and humor (yes, there are very funny moments). This production achieves all those things. It is easy to go catch an upbeat musical off Broadway, but enjoying a play that will leave you thinking about these characters for years to come is priceless.
— LocalTheatreNY.com

Rabbit Hole” at The Davenport is Perfect Theatre.
— LocalTheatreNY.com

The acting, staging and production are top rate.
— womanaroundtown.com

This is serious theater at its best: engaging, intelligent, exhilarating and satisfying.
— womanaroundtown.com

“Panic at the Riverside Motel”

Directed by Maria Riboli, “Panic” is everything that a play should be: the plot is incredibly in-your-face with its witty storyline that has every chance of being a murder-mystery, yet instead becomes comedic as the truth of what happened in that dingy hotel room is twisted and distorted to the point of absurdity.
— Broadwayworld.com

This show guarantees a good time because of how naturally these characters interact with one another, how funny and perfect the acting is, how appropriately simple and fitting is the setting, and just to figure out why there is a spot of shit on the motel wall. Really…isn’t that worth it alone?
— Broadwayworld.com

WE LOVED IT!

Hilarious. Very well written. The actors were spot on. Overall a great performance.

The experience was great the show was very interesting!

Overall enjoyable theatre experience. We laughed quite a bit.

Very funny and entertaining!

Nice story line. Good acting and hilarious screenplay.

Amazing! I had so much fun. 5 stars
— Goldstar.com 

“Family of strangers”

Director Maria Riboli, who acted in “Want and Need” and writer John Pastore are both great talents. They continue to do really compelling work…

I strongly suggest getting to Roy Arias Studios and Theaters Stage 2 at 300 West 43rd Street and seeing “Family of Strangers” as soon as possible.
— andybsports.com

5stars all the way,plesantly surprised! 5 Stars
— Goldstar.com 

Well done play. The plot and the acting were very good. One of the best plays I have seen in awhile. Well worth seeing. 5 Stars
— Goldstar.com 

This play was fantastic. All aspects of the production – direction, lighting, music, acting were the best we have seen in a long time. Not many Broadway shows deliver such superb level of acting.

The theater is small, so it feels very intimate, as if you are part of the family drama unfolding in front of your eyes.

Highly recommended. Even full price tickets are too inexpensive for such high quality theater. Thank you to everyone involved in this play for sharing your talent with us. 5 Stars
— Goldstar.com 

Best off off drama I’ve seen in years. Great script; tremendous acting; very well staged. 5 Stars
— Goldstar.com 

“Want & Need”

… great story and a great night out as a whole. 5 Stars!
— Goldstar.com 

… REMINDED ME OF MYSELF…
— Goldstar.com 

This is a witty, nuanced and sensitive play about friendship and attachment between present day single men and women. The action and dialogue is racy and the characters are delicious. You get to know and love most of them and care how the get on. I recommend it.
— Goldstar.com 

The play was funny, definitely enjoyable, at times completely serious and it ultimately sent the message of a man’s point of view of a Want and Need in a relationship vs. that of a woman’s Want and Need. The Actors were wonderful and the sexual scenes were definitely done tastefully.
— Goldstar.com 

“The baby dance”

… Riboli is fully believable as a seemingly together woman quickly unraveling in a world far outside her comfort zone. When Wanda offers Rachel a seat at her kitchen table, she slides into it with all the apprehension of easing into an electric chair, fingering her necklace, fanning her face, and wondering whether to cross or uncross her arms…
— Adrienne Cea, offoffonline.com 03/29/2008

… Cho and Riboli have a natural chemistry with each other. They fill up the stage with their personalities, drawing you into their world. Watching them, you can feel the scorching sun, taste the cheap, bland food and imagine the neighbor’s wild dogs, which can be heard yapping in the distance…
— Adrienne Cea, offoffonline.com 03/29/2008

“BAAAHHH!!!”

… Ivan, aided by Dermendzjieva (a former bureaucrat played by the superb and captivating Maria Riboli), abandons all reasoned thinking in the face of roundabout bureaucratic logic…
— Chloe Hughes, offoffonline.com 08/15/2007

… Riboli’s performance is worth seeing…
— Chloe Hughes, offoffonline.com 08/15/2007

… Stefano Genovese and Maria Riboli do a commendable job of taking a difficult play and giving it a contemporary spin, all the while maintaining the magic and integrity of Stratiev’s original…
— Josephine Cashman, NYTheatre.Com 08/12/2007

… Cast standouts amongst the fine ensemble includes Maria Riboli as the passionately repressed Dermendzjieva, who bravely defies her boss to join Ivan and his friends…
— Josephine Cashman, NYTheatre.Com 08/12/2007

… Riboli makes Dermendzjieva’s transformation unexpected and fresh, conveying all sides of her story…
— Frank Marzullo, The Ticker 10/01/2007

… Stefano Genovese, director, and Maria Riboli, executive producer/co-director/actress, have taken a difficult play by Stanislav Stratiev and made a successful off off Broadway production, made even more poignant by what is currently occurring in the US.

… while Maria Riboli was very good as the repressed typist (Dermendzjieva) at the Ministry office…
— Manos Angelakis, Arts and Antiques 10/10/2007

What they say about Maria Riboli

Simply put, Ms. Riboli possesses extraordinary talent and skill.
I would say that she is one of the two or three most gifted and polished actors I’ve had the pleasure of teaching in my nearly seven years at the Strasberg Institute.
Rarely have I coached an actor with such intelligence, motivation, depth and imagination.
Her work on both comedic and dramatic material is consistently first-rate. She has penetrating insight into human nature, excellent physical and vocal skills, and an unusually strong sense of originality.
Miss Riboli also possesses an extensive literary knowledge of dramatic material from all major periods, a rarity these days.
Ms. Riboli has my highest recommendation as a film and Theatre artist.

— Robert Castle-Lee Strasberg Theatre Institute

I have had the privilege of working with Maria Riboli for two years.
She is the “Host” of our television network, Cult Network Italia (CNI). CM is a cultural television network airing throughout Italy with all production based here in New York.
After an extensive auditioning process with 200 actress and many weeks later, we were extremely pleased to find Maria Riboli. She was exactly what the channel needed, and what we had long searched for, her talent was really unparallel.
Maria became the “signature” of our network. She worked tirelessly for us, shooting as many as 30 different scenes in one day.
We received hundreds of e-mails from our viewers delighted that Maria Riboli was hosting our channel. Quite frankly we could not have done it without her.
Last year, our network won the “Hot Bird Award.” This award is giving by the foreign press as an achievement for the best new European Network. Maria Riboli helped us to win this award, with her beautiful presence, remarkable deliveries, and unique talent.
On a personal note, I have been producing television for twenty years, and I’ve worked with thousands of actors. It was a distinct and unique pleasure to work with Maria. Our time constraints and requirements were unusually demanding, and Maria came through each time. Her ability to work long hard hours and still look fresh in front of the cameras is amazing. She never complained and always performed each camera take as if it was her first. Maria is a unique talent.

— Maria Lokken Executive Producer – CREATIVE NETWORKS INTERNATIONAL

When I am in New York, I think of Maria as my personal coach – whether I am reading for something or just need to sharpen my process, she is more than generous in giving the actor complete control over their piece while shaping them. It’s awesome when you feel the change in yourself, and discover new things on a piece you have worked on and Maria makes it happen! Thank you so much Maria!
— Beau Hoffman SAG AFTRA AEA
Macbeth – Shakspere’s Globe, UK
IdeaCast commercial (Superbowl Spot)
Sprint Waitless.org commercial
The Guardian (theatrical Release)
Glengary Glen Ross – Steppenwolf theatre Chicago
Impro Acedemy Paris France

I still have in front of my eyes the ship, the sea, the bags, the people… I’ m still feeling the warm of my tears all over my cheeks.. It was just an exercise, more than 10 years ago, but I still remember every single minute of that magic experience. I did one of my first acting classes with Maria, and I remember everything she helped us to search and find.
I had also the great privilege to share the stage with her, and I can tell that I’ve always seen the same great thing, before, as my teacher, and after, as my partner: she has the wonderful and rare ability to make everything real. She really believes in what’s happening on stage, she really IS the character.
Her shining eyes at the end of the shows tell everybody all the absolute love and the total devotion she has to this job.

— Lucia Gadolini – actress, voice over talent – Italy

Maria has been been instrumental to my success as a performer. When I began working with her, I had little acting experience. After a year of her coaching, my technique improved dramatically. Not only is Maria a gifted actor and director, she is also a fantastic teacher. She uses her years of experiences and transforms them into very simple yet challenging study techniques. And, her training has provided me with tools that I can use not only on stage, but also during auditions, rehearsals and in every day life.
— Corina – Musician-Actress-Stage Manager

I had the chance to meet Maria for a project of mine, I remember that for that particular role I had seen more than 100 actors in a week when finally Maria came about and I had no doubts that not only she was the one I was looking for but that with her sparkling talent she could have helped me to shape further the character. I was right her contributions ended up being crucial in molding the role. Maria is both sophisticated and humble and brings a unique energy that sparkles in every layer of her work.
— Flavio Rizzo – Director

After gaining so much from Maria’s Cold Read Class, I knew she was the one I needed to go to in order to prepare for my role in the film CRIMESIGHT. Maria is a WONDERFUL coach! She is incredibly professional, creative, supportive, kind and encouraging. She truly cares about the success of each student. Maria rocks!
— Evelyn Vaccaro – Actress, Live-on-Air Host of RSN Television/TV41)


It has been incredible working with Maria for the past four years. I’ve enjoyed and learned a great deal from both her classes and private coaching sessions. With Maria’s guidance I’ve been able to book work on Feature Films, TV, and Commercials. Maria is someone I can see myself working with for years to come as I have found a true artistic connection with her. I highly recommend working with Maria and watch your booking rate soar!
—  Christina Rose AEA-AFTRA-SAG

Back to top